IPL 2017 Retained Team Players List IPL 10

IPL 2017 Player Retention List – 140 Players including 44 overseas

The window for the franchises to retain players for the VIVO Indian Premier League 2016 season closed December 15, 2016.

As many as 140 cricketers including 44 overseas players have been retained by the VIVO IPL franchises for 2017 season.

Team Purse Spent Balance Purse Purse Spent (Rs. In Crs) Balance Purse (Rs. In Crs) Total Players in the squad Overseas Players
DD 445,000,000 215,000,000 44.5 21.5 18 5
KXIP 426,500,000 233,500,000 42.65 23.35 19 5
KKR 462,500,000 197,500,000 46.25 19.75 14 4
MI 544,450,000 115,550,000 54.445 11.555 20 6
RCB 531,750,000 128,250,000 53.175 12.825 20 8
SRH 451,000,000 209,000,000 45.1 20.9 17 5
RPS 469,000,000 191,000,000 46.9 19.1 16 5
GL 516,500,000 143,500,000 51.65 14.35 16 6
Total 3,846,700,000 1,433,300,000 384.67 143.33 140 44

Here’s the list of players who have been retained by the eight VIVO Indian Premier League teams: Read more

Michael Clarke urges Australian players to reconsider IPL plans


Michael Clarke, the former Australia captain, has urged the current crop of Australian players to reconsider playing in the Indian Premier League (IPL) in order to be able to avoid injuries.

During the last edition of the IPL, a number of Australian players including Steve Smith suffered injuries and were forced to leave the tournament. Soon after, Australia lost to Sri Lanka in the three-Test series and Smith took a break from international cricket to get away from the non-stop cricket. Mitchell Starc missed the five-match One-Day International series in South Africa due to injury while Josh Hazlewood was rested for the contest where the hosts blanked Australia 5-0.

The decision to rest key players meant Australia traveled to South Africa without their frontline bowlers. Clarke felt that playing for the country should be the priority for any player. “Cricket Australia allow every contracted player to have six weeks off a year,” Clarke said on Saturday (December 3). “This falls during the IPL time so it’s an individual player’s choice to go and play IPL. And if you choose your six-week holiday to play IPL, then that’s your choice.

“There’s positives, the cash, that comes with that, but there’s negatives, the fatigue and lack of rest. You’ve got to sum up what’s best for you.

Read more

IPL owners eagerly waiting for SC ruling on BCCI-Lodha stand-off

NEW DELHI: The BCCI-Lodha Panel stand-off over the implementation of the Supreme Court appointed committee’s reforms has not only delayed the IPL media rights process but also threatens to derail the preparations for the 2017 IPL season. The harried IPL owners are, therefore, waiting with bated breath for the Apex Court’s judgement on December 5. Every year by October, the team owners and officials have at least one or two meetings and discuss matters relating to the upcoming season. But this year no such thing has happened and as a result the owners of the IPL teams are in complete dark about the season ahead.

So far, IPL’s Governing Council (GC) had one meeting where the BCCI top honchos took a call on the tentative dates of the IPL auction and the dates of the league. Therefore not only is the BCCI anxiously waiting for the Apex Court to pass its final order on December 5, but the IPL teams are also holding their breath. They are eager to ensure that no more delay takes place in the preparations.

Read more

Indian Premier League Prize Money

The most famous t20 cricket league IPL offers a significant money award to the winning teams and players. There are billions of cricket fans who enjoy watching Indian Premier League championship through their television sets, mobiles, laptops and other platforms. Hence tournament’s popularity is quite decent and teams do some serious business when enters in the semi-finals aka final four.

Indian Premier League Prize Money

As per Indian Premier League rules, top 4 teams of the season will bag money after the event. No money will be alloted to rest four clus of the championship. Whatever prize money a team earns, half of that price should be distributed among the players as per BCCI/IPL norms.

In the 2016 Vivo IPL, approx 47 Crore INR was total budget for the teams to be awarded. IPL 2016 winning team Sunrisers Hyderabad made 20 Cr. meanwhile runner-up Royal Challengers Bangalore bagged 11 crore INR. Third and fourth place teams Gujarat Lions and Kolkata Knight Riders made 7.5 Crore INR each.

In the 10th season of event, it is expected that total prize money will be hiked by approximate 3 crore INR from last season. The winner of IPL 2017 is expected to make 21 crore ruppes. Let’s have a look at the complete breakdown of prize money for Vivo Indian Premier League.


IPL 2017 Prize Money

Teams Position IPL 2015 IPL 2016 IPL 2017
Winner 15 Crore INR 20 Crore INR 21 Crore INR
Runner-up 10 Crore INR 11 Crore INR 12 Crore INR
Third Place 7.5 Crore INR 7.5 Crore INR 8 Crore INR
Fourth Place 7.5 Crore INR 7.5 Crore INR 8 Crore INR