Bhuvneshwar Kumar again a winner despite dip in Sunrisers Hyderabad’s show

Bhuvneshwar, 27, the leading wickettaker in IPL 2016 with 23 wickets, helped Sunrisers claim the title, and is again proving a quiet success. He leads the bowling charts with 10 wickets going into the team’s fifth match, against Kings XI Punjab at home on Monday.

Bhuvi leads his teammate Rashid Khan, the teenaged Afghan leg spinner who has caught the imagination of the cricket world with subtle variations. He has taken seven wickets to be tied with Delhi Daredevils’ Chris Morris, Andrew Tye of Gujarat Lions and MI’s Mitch McClenaghan. Rising Pune Supergiant’s South African leg spinner, Imran Tahir, too had seven ahead of Sunday’s clash with Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Bhuvneshwar was the stand out player for SRH in the last two games, though they lost to Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight Riders.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, one of the stars of Sunrisers Hyderabad’s triumphant IPL 2016 campaign, is once again leading the bowling charts in IPL 2017.(BCCI)

Read more

IPL 2017 Match 17 Result : Rising Pune Supergiant won by 27 runs

Shardul Thakur and Ben Stokes transformed Rising Pune Supergiant’s weakest link by claiming three wickets each to hand Royal Challengers Bangalore a 27-run defeat in their IPL clash on Sunday.

In a match billed as a clash of captains — Virat Kohli versus Steven Smith —- the Australian emerged victorious after the mighty batting line-up of the home team caved in meekly to silence a packed M Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Ben Strokes

Ben Stokes’ three-wicket haul guided Rising Pune Supergiant to a 27-run win over Royal Challengers Bangalore in a 2017 Indian Premier League clash at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium. (BCCI )

RCB bowlers seemed to have done their job after Virat Kohli elected to field first on winning the toss as Rising Pune Supergiant slid to 130 for 7 in 17.2 overs, but Manoj Tiwary took charge and hammered 27 off 11 balls to take his team to a challenging total.

RPS finished on 161 for eight before restricting Royal Challengers Bangalore 134/9.

Although the odds were still against them, all-rounder Ben Stokes, Thakur and left-arm paceman Jaydev Unadkat shared eight wickets to upstage RCB.

Stokes had Kohli caught by Ajinkya Rahane in the deep for a 19-ball 28 after Thakur, the Mumbai paceman, had got rid of the other opener, Mandeep Singh, for a duck.

Bangalore were down to 70/3 after leg spinner Imran Tahir had AB de Villiers, also well-set on 29, stumped by MS Dhoni before the Rising Pune Supergiant bowlers chipped away at the middle-order.

Read more

IPL 2017 Match 16 Result : Mumbai Indians record 4th consecutive successful chase with win over Gujarat Lions

Mumbai: Skipper Rohit Sharma found some form going his way as he anchored Mumbai Indians to a six-wicket victory over Gujarat Lions on Sunday.

Chasing a tricky target of 177, skipper Rohit remained unbeaten on 40 off 29 balls with Mumbai Indians knocking off the target with three balls to spare.

The popular franchise maintained their pole position with four wins in five matches with the only defeat coming against Rising Pune Supergiant.

Nitish Rana IPL 2017

Mumbai’s Nitish Rana scored a match-winning 53 against Gujarat Lions.

Lions, on the other hand, have now lost three out of their four games and are languishing at the second last position in the eight-team table.

Credit should also be given to Nitish Rana (53 off 36 balls), who set the platform with another matured effort.

Kieron Pollard (39 of 23 balls) also did his bit with some lusty blows to make it easier for the skipper to add finishing touches.

Needing eight runs off the last over, Rohit guided a yorker past the keeper to take the pressure off. A couple of twos sealed it as the skipper looked relieved having gone through a bad patch since the start of the event.

Read more

IPL 2017: Gujarat Lions aim to complete a hat-trick against Mumbai Indians

Chasing 143 at the Chinnaswamy Stadium, Mumbai Indians lost their first four wickets for just seven runs as West Indies spinner Samuel Badree made a dream debut in RCB colours to claim a hat-trick in the third over. However, Pollard stitched a 93-run partnership for the sixth wicket to turn the game on its head and steer his side to the top of the table.

While this has been Mumbai Indians’ best start since 2013 when they won three of their first four games, Gujarat Lions finally managed to register a win this season, beating Rising Pune Supergiant by seven wickets at Rajkot on Friday.

Read more

What TV channel is the Indian Premier League on? What time are the games on? When will the final be played?

THE best domestic T20 tournament is underway with the world’s best cricketers gathered in Asia for the Indian Premier League.

This year marks the 10th edition of the hard-hitting, fast-paced competition in India.

Here is all you need to know about the event, including how to watch it.

For all the latest IPL news visit our dedicated section

When is the Indian Premier League?

The 2017 IPL began on Wednesday April 5 and will run until Sunday May 21.

It will be played at cricket venues all across India – not just the home cities for the eight competing teams.

How many matches are there and what time do they start?

There are 60 matches in total including the play-offs in May.

Most of the matches begin at 8pm in India, which is 3.30pm for people in the UK.

There are, though, the odd double headers with two games in a day, in which case one will be on at 11.30am BST.