CLT20 2012 – Match 12th – Delhi Daredevils vs Auckland Aces – Preview

October 19, 2012 : Delhi Daredevils vs Auckland Aces Live match will be started at 15:30 GMT & 21:00 IST and will be telecasted live on

Match Details
Match – 12th Champions League T20 (CLT20), 2012
Date – October 19,2012 (Friday)
Time – 15:30 GMT & 21:00 IST
Venue – Kingsmead, Durban

Riding on its batting prowess, Delhi Daredevils would look to consolidate their position in the points table when they take on a demoralised but unpredictable Auckland Aces in a crucial Group A match of the Champions League Twenty20 cricket tournament on Friday.

But it won’t be easy for the Daredevils as they will find it hard to keep the momentum going after a long gap from the playing arena.

The Delhi outfit last played four days ago when they beat reigning IPL champions Kolkata Knight Riders in their tournament opener and since then they have remained out of action.

To make matters worse for Delhi, the Aucklanders will approach the match as wounded tigers and will be desperate to return to winning ways after having lost to Titans in their previous game last night.

But all said and done, the Daredevils have the potential to turn any game on its head riding on the quality of their batting department.

In skipper Mahela Jayawardene, Virender Sehwag, Kevin Pietersen and Ross Taylor, Delhi outfit possesses a top-order which can tear apart any bowling attack in any condition.

Young Unmukt Chand is also a welcome addition to Delhi’s already powerful batting line-up as the right-hander is capable of adapting to the requirements of the team.

Delhi’s bowling attack is equally dangerous. In Irfan Pathan, Morne Morkel, Umesh Yadav and Ajit Agarkar, the IPL team has a strong pace attack, which will find the bouncy South African conditions to their liking.

In fact, Delhi’s pace quartet has already made their intentions clear during their defence of 160 runs against KKR the other day.

While Pathan, Morkel and Yadav scalped two wickets apiece, Agarkar picked up one to derail KKR’s chase.

Auckland, on the other hand, had mixed result so far in the main round. After annihilating KKR by seven wickets in the first game, the New Zealand team lost to Titans by 59 runs yesterday.

And the Gareth Hopkins-led team would be desperate to get their campaign back on track against Delhi tomorrow.

Till yesterday, Auckland were on roll given that it had won both its qualifying matches and then the first Group A game against KKR.

Devoid of any big stars, Auckland team has been a surprise package with its gritty performances.

An enterprising batting line-up has been Auckland’s strength and this was revealed in match against KKR with good contributions coming from the top order even though the target was not huge.

Experienced all-rounder Azhar Mahmood was the star performer with both the bat and ball. He would be a key player for the team along with Vincent and Martin Guptill.

The trio remains the lifeline of Auckland’s batting department, but against Titans yesterday, they failed to deliver with the bat and would be eager to return among runs. (PTI)

CLT20 2012 Team Squads :
Delhi Daredevils: Mahela Jayawardene (c), Virender Sehwag, Unmukt Chand, Kevin Pietersen, Naman Ojha (wk), Ross Taylor, Pawan Negi, Morne Morkel, Irfan Pathan, Ajit Agarkar, Umesh Yadav.

Auckland Aces: Martin Guptill, Lou Vincent, Azhar Mahmood, Anaru Kitchen, Colin de Grandhomme, Colin Munro, Gareth Hopkins (c & wk), Ronnie Hira, Kyle Mills, Andre Adams, Michael Bates.